Other Cars (British & British-Inspired)

a place to discuss all our other favorite cars, especially the modified and/or V8 ones

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

Abarxax
Oliver Fishburn

(1 posts)

08/20/2014 03:12PM

Main British Car:

V8 Minor Project Advice
Posted by: Abarxax
Date: August 20, 2014 03:26PM

Hi All,

I am thinking about building a V8 Minor as an ambitious first project I am trying to teach myself along the way I have a few friends who are mechanics but I want to do as much as possible myself but before even starting I need some advice. What do I need to consider and what engine would be recommended. I know rover v8s are popular but I did have the thought of buying an old jaguar and stripping it for parts & engine. As I say I am new so I am a complete beginner so any advice and support would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/20/2014 03:32PM by Abarxax.

Curtis Jacobson
Portland Oregon
(4577 posts)

10/12/2007 02:16AM

Main British Car:
71 MGBGT, Buick 215

authors avatar
Re: V8 Minor Project Advice
Posted by: Moderator
Date: August 20, 2014 04:47PM

Welcome to BritishV8, Oliver!

I think a Minor project sounds like a ton of fun. However, you're already trying to decide between two radical options. I would definitely purchase and start measuring the Minor BEFORE making many decisions about the eventual drivetrain. It's very hard to appreciate clearance issues until you have ruler in hand. In fact, you'll get much better measurements once the Morris lump is out of the way. Clearance issues can turn into huge delays or even worse.

Also, you need to decide for yourself what you want to have when you get finished. Show versus go? Curvy roads, or just straight ahead?