kustomz
Johnny Van Leeuwen

(4 posts)

09/21/2009 11:40AM

Main British Car:

NEW HERE... JUST GOT A 1969 MIDGET.
Posted by: kustomz
Date: September 21, 2009 12:26PM

So i just picked up a 1969 mg midget That has been sitting in a garage since 1979...

It ran when it was parked there. I am very new to this MG deal. The very little I know about anything british comes from having a 66 triumph 650 Bonneville once.

The car needs a little body work and I can handle that with ease. Made a dumb mistake hauling it home with a dolly and leaving the rear wheels on the ground I believe I may have shot the gear box. I guess not a huge deal even if I stay stock on the drivetrain which I still have not decided on... Everyone I know says keep it original, Its worth a pretty penny that way. I do not see that from ebay listings. Not looking like a big money bringer. Though that is not my intent on this project. I know some people with parts and what I see on ebay is really not that expensive.

I do not know all the specs for this car... From what I gather a 69 is a 1275 cc midget? mkiii? What is the MGA, B, C deal. How do I determine that?

I have scrolled through here and seen the big gm 60degree v6 posts and all and though I can handle the job I am not sure I want to.

How does this block handle beefiness??? Has anyone here really beefed up one. Just a good rebuild maybe. What would that do for it? Nice sized cam? Anyone done any boring and and compression changes?

Dont guess theres a stroker kit? LOL

Head work... is there a nice set of heads that would swap right out off another model or what? or would someone suggest a good intake/exhaust port level?

I know its a lot of questions but this is where I am at and what I am thinking.

Keep the stock motor and modify....
OOOHHHHH and whats the skinny on the rear???? what is the ratio and is there any opinions with size ratio and locking?