Chesterland Ohio
(14 posts)

05/02/2010 08:43PM

Main British Car:
1976 MGB Ford 351

Small block ford engine mounts
Posted by: pszlamas
Date: May 02, 2010 09:17PM

Hi all, my name is Pete and first I'd like to say what an excellent resource this site has been to me!

I recently purchased a 1976 mgb roadster with hopes of converting it to V8 power. Its a near rust free california car that was in the process of restoration but the PO ran out of funds. I have a 351 that I had built a few years ago for a project that I lost interest on. The motor is pretty well built, aftermarket heads, matching cam and all the other bells and whistles. It was a nasty motor in my previous project car approx 450hp. My plan is to swap the 351 in with either a t5 or toploader four speed. I'm a welder by trade and I do posses alot of fabrication skills. Although I dont have alot of time to work on my toys, I like to make a plan and follow the best I can. For right now I want to get by with notching and using the stock crossmember and rebuild the front suspension with urethane bushings and maybe a tube shock conversion. I'd like to use the the stock mgb rear end for a year or so then narrow and old 8.8 ford i have.

I've been searching the forums and lurking for a while. I see how many members have swapped 302's in and I would go the same route but I still have the 351 that I need to do something with. I do know that 302's and 351's share the same motor mounts, bell housing and some other bits. The 351 has a taller deck and provided that all else are the same the 351 should drop in with some firewall and hood modifications which I am not afraid to do. Headers will be about the biggest challenge for me only because I dont have a tube bender so I will have to use a box of j and u bends and cut alot.