(829 posts)

02/28/2009 10:01AM

Main British Car:
1966 MGB Roadster 350 LT1 Chevy

authors avatar
Easier way to a wide MGB
Posted by: Jim Stabe
Date: March 11, 2013 04:59PM

Here is the thread I promised to stop hijacking the fender flare thread. I have been working for the past 12 years on my project to widen my MGB roadster and most who are reading this will probably have seen the journal at one time or another. The bottom line is my build has been an evolution away from the original thought of just widening the shell to cover the C4 suspension to what it is now with nearly the entire car being fabricated and well under 300 lbs of MGB metal remaining. The event that took the project off the rails was after I cut the car apart and spread the two halfs apart and I took the Corvette front suspension on the original Vette crossmember and raised it up in place where the MGB crossmember used to be. It was an almost perfect fit and I could have had it mounted easily within a weekend and retained all the MGB front structure. The problem was that the A arms and spindles were beautiful forged aluminum pieces but the crossmember was really UGLY. Rather than do the smart thing and build a crossmember that looked good and would mount the Corvette aluminum pieces, I decided to build an entire front structure that incorporated the Corvette suspension pickup points. That structure had to be tied into the monocoque somehow which led to the building of a Lotus Elan style backbone chassis and the eventual elimination os nearly all MG sheetmetal inside of the outer skin. Am I happy with the way the car turned out? Absolutely! I love the proportions of the car now and I believe it will be a good platform for the 500 hp it will eventually have. Was it the easiest way to do it? Absolutely not!