engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" and Costello V8s

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

valdeztke
juan barnett

(2 posts)

10/23/2007 10:18PM

Main British Car:

Purchasing a 1967 MGB-GT - Need some advice!
Posted by: valdeztke
Date: October 23, 2007 10:31PM

I'm very new to the world of vintage sports cars and appreaciate all the advice. I've located as the title states, a 1967 MGB-GT in rather good condition, but I don't really know what to "look for".

Here is some emails from the seller...

"Compression's excellent - about 10:1 or so. Whoever rebuilt this engine really seemed to know what he was doing. Oil pressure's also excellent - 70-80 psi. It runs at 200-215 degrees and doesn't smoke. As to leaking, well...it's a British car and leaks come with the territory. These things leaked right off the factory floor. Mine is very good and doesn't have any problems in that respect, but you'll have spots on your driveway - it's how people know you have a small Brit sports car. Transmission is a little problematic when downshifting from third to second. I had the tranny rebuilt shortly after I bought it in 2001, but they didn't do a good job. At the time, I thought all little old cars shifted this way, but have since learned differently. I've gotten used to it over the years, but it's there. Acceleration is great, due chiefly to the rebored engine rebuild, but don't think that this thing's going to lay tracks anywhere. The MGBs were never beasts - they were designed more for handling than speed.
This car's a lot of fun and really, really easy to work on - the only pollution control stuff it has is a PCV valve. It's like working on a lawnmower engine. It'll never be a show winner, although I've kept it totally stock.
Feel free to pester me with questions."

Motor's 1800 cc.
I drive it about once a month.
The rear brakes are drums, but I can't tell you whether it's easy or hard to change to discs.
Oil."