Mike-nel
Mike Nellist

(3 posts)

12/30/2011 07:55AM

Main British Car:

Which engine to choose for mgb gtv8 conversion
Posted by: Mike-nel
Date: December 30, 2011 08:13AM

Hi guys, I am new to this sight and looking for some advice from all of you lovely people, I am in the planning stages of an mgb gt v8 conversion but I am struggling to decide which engine would be best to use, I was swaying towards the 3.9l range rover inline as they seem to be readily available from the likes of eBay and other breakers, what would your advice and opinions be, also a recommendation for a manual gearbox would also be appreciated.
Thanks a bunch guys, mike.

Bill Young
Bill Young
Kansas City, MO
(1337 posts)

10/23/2007 09:23AM

Main British Car:
'73 MG Midget V6 , '59 MGA I6 2.8 GM, 4.0 Jeep

authors avatar
Re: Which engine to choose for mgb gtv8 conversion
Posted by: Bill Young
Date: December 30, 2011 08:38AM

Mike, from your post I take it you are in Great Britian. Over there the primary engine used in conversions is indeed the Rover, in any of its displacements, from the original 3.5 as in the SD1 up to the latest. Transmission choices are usually either from a SD1 or a TR8, really same box as I understand. If you can find a Ford 302 V8 and T5 transmission that also makes a great combination in a MGB. The Rover conversion has been well documented and is prehaps the easiest of the two especially on your side of the pond.
You should take a look at the article on David Tetlow's MGB V8 conversion here on the forum. [www.britishv8.org]
A very well done conversion and the article describes most of the necessary modifications and other improvements David chose.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/30/2011 08:41AM by Bill Young.

Curtis Jacobson
Portland Oregon
(4577 posts)

10/12/2007 02:16AM

Main British Car:
71 MGBGT, Buick 215

authors avatar
Posted by: Moderator
Date: December 30, 2011 11:15AM

Welcome to the forum, Mike!