(96 posts)

01/16/2011 05:17PM

Main British Car:
1963 MGB

authors avatar
Brake Master Cylinder size
Posted by: 63BlueMGB
Date: January 15, 2012 09:32PM

Hello I am doing a V8 conversion on a 63 MGB and have been doing alot of research and reading on the how to and other info. But I have never really came across what brake master cylinder size I should use. I believe stock has a 1" master cylinder. I am sure that it is not that simple so I was wondering if any body out there has some info or a way to go about calculating what size my master cylinder should be. my V8 will have disc brakes on all fours and it is a 63 so I am using the old style pedal box so room is a issue and I know I will be using a porportioning valve to help. Can I use the original can? I am just learning on all aspects of what goes into a car so any info I recieve or routes I go to be able to find out what I need will be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance

Bill Young
Bill Young
Kansas City, MO
(1337 posts)

10/23/2007 09:23AM

Main British Car:
'73 MG Midget V6 , '59 MGA I6 2.8 GM, 4.0 Jeep

authors avatar
Re: Brake Master Cylinder size
Posted by: Bill Young
Date: January 15, 2012 10:57PM

Hey, NB welcome to the site. Another conversion in KC that's great. Have two running V6s now and two more V6s under construction in the area. Bill Guzman at Classic Conversion Engineering has the low down on a good master cylinder conversion that should work well for you, worked find on the Roadmaster with larger discs up front and Jag discs in the rear. I believe it's a Corvette unit, but he can tell you more or check his website.

rficalora
Rob Ficalora
Willis, TX
(2764 posts)

10/24/2007 02:46PM

Main British Car:
'76 MGB w/CB front, Sebring rear, early metal dash Ford 302

authors avatar
Posted by: rficalora
Date: January 15, 2012 11:08PM