Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

alibob22
Alan Silverstone
Cornwall UK
(3 posts)

05/20/2008 06:38PM

Main British Car:

I'm new here and need an engine number deciphered!
Posted by: alibob22
Date: May 20, 2008 06:56PM

Hello Everyone
As I do this for a living I should know the answer but I have searched every archive and can't get the accurate description/decipher for this Rover (OK...I know it was your Buick engine first) V8:
48114877D and above the number it is quite clearly stamped 9.25:1 CR - I am pretty sure it is a P6 Rover 3528cc (You do the cubic inch thing) although the 48D bit tells me it might be a 4.6 litre (I wished!)
I bought the B (79 R/B) with the engine already in and I can't ask the previous owner because, sadly, he was planted over a year ago. It will be Black with C/B, NO side chrome strips (This is England and I wear lots of wooly sweaters) lowered, 5 speed (SD1 box) and some rather nice Corvette type wheels. Was going to go for magnolia instruments but they cost more than a barrell of oil each!
Anyway it is time for bed now...If you want to know more about me : www.liskeardclassiccars.co.uk
Look forward to all your dentist jokes etc.

Curtis Jacobson
Portland Oregon
(4577 posts)

10/12/2007 02:16AM

Main British Car:
71 MGBGT, Buick 215

authors avatar
Re: I'm new here and need an engine number deciphered!
Posted by: Moderator
Date: May 20, 2008 08:18PM

I found a pretty extensive Rover engine number chart here:
[www.rimmerbros.co.uk]

Your engine number doesn't seem to perfectly match anything on this chart, and the chart doesn't have a very good key to explain its use... but in the lefthand column, twelve lines down, there's a listing that almost makes sense:
Quote:
48100001A..............P6 3500S manual 10.5:1:cr..............1967-1976
(Obviously your compression ratio doesn't match.)

Curtis Jacobson
Portland Oregon
(4577 posts)

10/12/2007 02:16AM

Main British Car:
71 MGBGT, Buick 215