Wray Goode

(6 posts)

06/22/2008 02:47PM

Main British Car:

Looking for GT & info about alternate engine swaps
Posted by: Wray
Date: June 30, 2008 06:35PM

First:

I'm new to the BritishV8 group, but my wife and I have recently been looking for a good MGB GT for her.
She had a 1980 MGB LE a few years ago that she enjoyed driving and taking to car shows, but this time she doesn't want a convertible. She wants an enclosed car with all the glass for visibility the could have air conditioning added.
A coupe this time, something in the MK3 type GT with chrome bumpers, that would have adequate power and reliability for air conditioning and interstate travel.
Most of all I'd like to start with a rust free body. I'd rather do mechanical work.
If anyone has any leads on GTs I'd appreciate information and contacts.

Second:

I like the idea of the aluminum Buick/Rover V8, but has anyone had experience using the new 4 cylinder all aluminum ECOTEC drive train (engine and transmission)?
They are being removed from the late model Pontiac Solstice and Saturn Sky. There are companies converting these cars to the new General Motors LS series of crate motors so almost new drive trains are available.

Since the ECOTEC has a lot of GM Performance parts support, aftermarket programing, drive by wire throtle kit available from GM Performance parts, hadraulic clutch, etc.
I recently considered an ECOTEC for my Bugeye Sprite, but endeded up buying a later model 1275cc A-H Sprite for all the parts to upgrade to disc brakes and the larger engine.

The size, weight, power, reliability of the ECOTEC drive train might make it a decent alternative to a V8 in an MGB.
I don't mean to offend anyone, just looking for something real reliable for my wife so I can spend more time on my other car projects (most of which have V8s).