(96 posts)

01/16/2011 05:17PM

Main British Car:
1963 MGB

authors avatar
My take on installing EFI Fuel pump
Posted by: 63BlueMGB
Date: April 28, 2013 12:15AM

First let me say I am new to this car stuff and everything I do is from searching topics and coming up with an idea that I think works for me and if I can learn something in the process it will only make me better in the future, thanks to everybody's previous inputs on EFI fuel pump installation and opinions I did alot of searching on the britishV8 site plus mutliple others but I wanted to post what i thought would work for me and wanted to hear some thoughts and opinions on the installation i came up with plus I hope this my help someone in the future . Of course I have not had a chance to test this installation for myself but it should work (famous last words, right?). Well first I was looking at Kelly S. article on EFI and plus I looked at Keith T. article on his fuel problems and decided that I should install a submersible fuel pump for my EFI installation. Problem was I am running out of funds for my project and cannot afford to buy a new tank, I also do not have the confidence and faith in my welder to weld on my tank and ensure that I get it sealed properly.So I have to use the one I have, and came up with this solution... I welcome any comments and concerns with my installation and I hope this helps somebody down the road.
First I researched vehicles with a fuel pump with the 5.0L motor and which on of them was flanged mounted. I decided to use one from a 98-01 Mercury Mountaineer that has a flange mount
Fuel Pump.jpg
Front of fuel pump.jpg
Of course the length is to large to fit in my stock tank so the next step is to shorten the fuel pump using the stock brackets, My fuel tank on a 1963 MGB only measures about 61/2" and it deepest section. So I shorten the bracket so it has a total length of about 6 1/4"
Cut fuel pump.jpg