Henshouse
Henry Wilson

(7 posts)

01/13/2014 08:25AM

Main British Car:

New to the Forum: Need help with the Jag IRS
Posted by: Henshouse
Date: January 14, 2014 02:56PM

I am an amateur mechanic at best, but I have a question I am hoping will not make me look too stupid. I have a Jag IRS from a late eighties XJS with a 288 gear ratio. I guess I really have two questions, the first is how have you secured the IRS frame to the MGB body to ensure it will not move in ways we don't want it to move? I have thought about building some trailing arm type rods to secure it by tying it to the old leaf spring mounts, has anyone done this?

My second question is, is the 288 gear ratio going to cause me problems since ideally it should be 307?

Oh and one more question, should I be concerned that the wheels can drop enough (when the car is on jack stands) to bind the u-joints? Should I build something to limit the distance the wheels can drop?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

mgb260
Jim Nichols
Sequim,WA
(2463 posts)

02/29/2008 08:29PM

Main British Car:
1973 MGB roadster 260 Ford V8

Re: New to the Forum: Need help with the Jag IRS
Posted by: mgb260
Date: January 14, 2014 03:46PM

Henry, Need to know what kind of car and trans you are using. If MGB you would be fine with the GM V6 T5 that has the 4.02 first if your motor has adequate power. Limiting straps or bump stops are a good idea. Check out this board on the Roadmaster and 340 build thread.
MVC-198S.JPG

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 01/14/2014 05:28PM by mgb260.

Henshouse
Henry Wilson

(7 posts)

Main British Car:

Date: January 14, 2014 06:00PM

I am using the Buick 215 and TR8 transmission combo. Is the rear end gear ratio too far off to work well?

Curtis Jacobson
Portland Oregon
(4577 posts)

10/12/2007 02:16AM

Main British Car:
71 MGBGT, Buick 215

authors avatar
Posted by: Moderator
Date: January 14, 2014 08:42PM