Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In
Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2

Trooper
Kenneth Frasier
Huntingtown,Maryland
(13 posts)

08/20/2009 07:12PM

Main British Car:
1974 TR-6

Hello, help!!!
Posted by: Trooper
Date: August 26, 2009 07:33AM

Hello, cheers.
I am new to this so please forgive me if I do not know what I am talking about. I have been thinking about starting a project car and wanted it to be a Tr-6. I been searching around and have seen some bits here and about for sale. I am not sure where to start? Can anyone give me a ideal of what is needed and what I should be aware of before I start spending money. What I have found so far is (1). 1970 Tr-6 that has been striped down to the frame. The body has been sanded and primed. many of the parts have been replaced. ( 2) I have contacted RATCO about having a framed made for a V8.( 3) I have read the web sites and it seems that the ford engine is the way to go leaning to either a 304 or 428. I thank you all in advance.

alana
alan atkinson
(232 posts)

06/19/2008 08:06PM

Main British Car:
68 TR250 LS2

authors avatar
Re: Hello, help!!!
Posted by: alana
Date: August 26, 2009 08:37AM

This might be better in the Triumph forum.

fwiw, you should have a think about what you want.
Let's leave $ out of it for a second.

Your biggest question is whether you want to run IRS or solid rear.
If it's an IRS and you aren't doing a full-custom fab setup, then you are pretty much restricted to the short-nose R200, which keeps you down to about 300hp. That then determines your engine choice.

If it's a solid axle, there's at least one other vendor does a plug in frame - I think he's a supporter here, do a search for Fast Cars Inc. I saw his car at Carlisle, and it's a nice looking piece of work. A bit too lowered for my taste, but that's a personal thing ;)