Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

Yorkie
Kevin Deighton

(1 posts)

01/12/2014 07:55PM

Main British Car:

Newbie TR8 Idle problem
Posted by: Yorkie
Date: January 12, 2014 08:04PM

I just picked up a 1980 California spec Triumph TR8 and it immediately failed its smog test so I was hoping someone here could help with suggestions as I'm new to EFI units. The HC and NOX readings were all spot on but the CO was double the permitted limit. The idles fluctuates up and down slightly and there is a slight misfire at higher rpm.

I checked all the hoses for tightness and made sure the throttle body was clean inside. The plug wires look like pretty new malloy wires but the cap is a bit grubby inside. I pulled a vacuum on the advance/retard cannister and it moved OK. I squirted WD40 around the plenum while the car was running but the idle still fluctuates. Plugs are a light brown color.

Any thoughts on what to check next?
Thanks,
Kevin
Long Beach, CA

curley03
Wilbur Cook

(1 posts)

08/01/2012 11:18PM

Main British Car:

Re: Newbie TR8 Idle problem
Posted by: curley03
Date: January 12, 2014 10:15PM