Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

jamiehjr
Jamie Rodgers
Knoxville, TN USA
(2 posts)

04/22/2016 07:26PM

Main British Car:
1969 Triumph Spitfire

authors avatar
engine options for Spitfire
Posted by: jamiehjr
Date: May 01, 2016 08:07PM

Hey!

I have been dreaming about a V8 Spitfire for over 15 years. I love the body style (like a little 1950's Ferrari!). The stock driveline does nothing for me. I like to go big. I love the sound of a V8.

A local frame fabricator wants to stretch and widen the car, but has no one to do proper body work. His ideas of a Corvette engine with rear transmission and ABS brakes are way out of budget.

I have a rough 1969 Triumph Spitfire in storage with a Mk2 hood.

I am thinking V8 with fabricated frame with live axle, keeping the front suspension. What are my best options?

I like the LS1 GT6, just in a convertible Spitfire!

Is the small width of the Spitfire a concern for driving safety?

I have a lot of ideas swarming in my head. Now that I have a Spitfire, I don't know where to start!

Thank you,
Jamie
1969 Spitfire.jpg

Richard/SIA
Richard Brengman
No. Nevada
(399 posts)

01/17/2014 07:47PM

Main British Car:
1969 Triumph GT6+ 225" Buick V6

Re: engine options for Spitfire
Posted by: Richard/SIA
Date: May 01, 2016 08:59PM

First you need to decide your ground rules.

What is most important:
1/4 mile?
Top speed?
Handling?

Looks:
Sleeper that looks stock?
Hood scoop OK?
Flares OK?

Transmission:
Manual or slush-box?

Rear suspension?
This becomes a big deal as the stock rear will not work at all.

Aluminum BOPR V8 has been done several times so there is a lot of guidance available.
3.5 to 4.6 liter and speed equipment readily available, power level depends on how fat your wallet is.

Capri V6 is narrow and probably easy to fit, but not a V8