Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

Ianp
Ian Porteus
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
(7 posts)

07/03/2010 11:27PM

Main British Car:
Soon to be TR6

TR6 To buy or not to buy...need help with the answer
Posted by: Ianp
Date: July 04, 2010 12:40AM

Hello all.
I have wanted a TR6 since I was a teenager. The time has arrived to buy one...maybe.

This forum is terrific, I have already learned a few important things by reading some of the old threads. There are many other questions I need answering though, before deciding to buy one or not.
About me: I live in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. My mechanical skills are more than the average person, as I went to a “vocational” high school and took autobody, automechanics, welding, machine shop, sheet metal and 4 other shops. I even painted a car, once, in 1982. I worked as an electronics and Quality Assurance technician, so have done a lot of prototyping, light machining, wiring and am familiar with hand and power tools and spray painting (albeit on small enclosures, not cars). I was a QA inspector on the refurbishment of 2 nuclear reactors at Pickering nuclear generating station (it took 2 years for my brothers to stop making mushroom clouds over Toronto jokes), so you know I have an eye for detail and am a stickler for doing things right and have no tolerance for lazy, slipshod work.

The TR6 I'm after is a daily driver in good condition that drives comfortably at highway speeds and requires minimum time and money maintaining/fixing. My apartment didn't come with a garage, so I can only do a limited amount of work on it myself, and don't have the equipment to do much on it anyway. With my other vehicles I have done basic tune ups, oil changes and minor repairs, although I am confident of doing more complicated work given a good set of instructions.

I have read the buyers guide on a couple of sites.