Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

77v8
Robert Dehart

(25 posts)

10/07/2010 06:56AM

Main British Car:

Hello everyone I am about two weeks into owning my dream car. tr7
Posted by: 77v8
Date: October 07, 2010 07:23AM

I have been a mechanic in a german and historic british car garage for seven years. I never knew what a tr7 was or that it had been the car i was trying to find since i turned sixteen untill a guy came and wanted to know if we could sell his tr7 for 100usd. I promptly whipped out 50 cash from my pocket and yelled to my boss spot me 50 untill tomorrow. I had no clue what i was buying but wanted a project car. at my second job I was telling my co-worker how my boss and i bought ourselves a tr7. he said really... I own two. I went to his home the next day and was star struck. flip up head lights. oversized gas cap. huge bumpers and that cheese wedge shape in what i affectionatley call (banana rama yellow) I promptly hounded the poor guy who sold us the car to get it to the shop before the snow... it finally came this spring. Its a burnt orange coupe with the sun roof on origonal steel rims and... tires. It did not run he said. I lifted the hood and discoverd a 2.0l 4 banger connected to a 5 speed. I dumped penetrating oil down the cy;enders and replaced the (Rotten!) spark plugs. flushed the tank discovering bad fuel lines and replaced the cap. one turn and it fired up! all gauges work. Its missing 5th gear and has a bad trans mount but she is quite peppy for a four. downside besides above mentioned is the front valance is tweaked as well as the passenger fender. Interior was plad and the window wont stay up. thats my story on the background of my little 77tr7

77v8
Robert Dehart

(25 posts)

Main British Car:

big plans for the little wedge.
Date: October 07, 2010 07:52AM