Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

nmanville
Nick Manville

(8 posts)

04/15/2008 12:12AM

Main British Car:

GT6 2.3l turbo engine swap
Posted by: nmanville
Date: April 15, 2008 12:21AM

I need some help. I am currently looking for a 2.3l turbo to go into my GT6 MK3. I was just wanting to gather some info on the work that is required. Do I have to modify engine mounts, transmission mounts? Is it imparative that I switch out the dif. What kind of fuel pumps are good and what kind of wiring is needed? What about gauges? Any help would be nice. Thanks for any replys.

V6 Midget
Bill Young
Kansas City, MO
(1337 posts)

10/23/2007 09:23AM

Main British Car:
'73 MG Midget V6 , '59 MGA I6 2.8 GM, 4.0 Jeep

authors avatar
Re: GT6 2.3l turbo engine swap
Posted by: V6 Midget
Date: April 15, 2008 12:11PM

Nick, I'm no expert on the GT6 but am fairly familair with the chassis. You'll probably have to fabricate new engine mountings. Would you be using the existing Triumph transmission or planning on using a matching 5 speed from the same car as the 2.3? I'd recommend using the 5 speed and making a mount for that transmission. As far as the rear differential goes, it's a real problem as it's not easy to replace with any other unit and has limited strength and ratio availability. I've heard that there is a swap for the Datsun/Nissan 240z diff that's been worked out, but I don't have any details on this. There is one GT6 being built that has been covered in the newsletter a bit that has some information on the differential mods [forum.britishv8.org] You might contact Jon and see what he's done in that area.