Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

thespitfirekid
Jason C
Vegas
(6 posts)

06/17/2008 06:52AM

Main British Car:
1976 Spitfire 1996 Roller 302 Ford

authors avatar
76'spitfire 5.0/C-4 swap total newbie please im begging im gonna need info
Posted by: thespitfirekid
Date: June 17, 2008 07:12AM

Im very new here, Im really stoked that i found this place I was feeling very alone in this. I have a 76' Spit, the old engine and trans is out and I just got done cleaning up and degreasing the frame a lil bit ago, I pulled a roller 5.0 with Gt-40p heads on it out of a 96' Moutainer, tomorrow im goin to the junkyard to get the engine mounts and C-4 trans, the car is stripped as far as heater box, windshield wipers,coil,cruise control,heater valve thingie,the only thing left on my firewall is the master cyl. Id like the engine back as far as I can get it b/c I dont want to modify the steering rack, the frame looks like it narrows up quite a bit where the trans goes, is this going to have to be opened up via cutting the rails or what? Will this engine fit if I just move the steering shaft out of the way and modify its angle? Am i going to have to cut up the front suspension and move stuff around just to put this in? I have lots more questions but im tired and i need to go to bed, this is my summer project since im off of school, I havent thought about the rearend of the car too much as id just like to get the engine and trans mocked up and installed then ill work my way to the back, anyways thanks alot everybody for any help at all i was starting to feel kinda overwhelmed by listening to my friends comments on my swap...:D

V6 Midget
Bill Young
Kansas City, MO
(1337 posts)

10/23/2007 09:23AM

Main British Car:
'73 MG Midget V6 , '59 MGA I6 2.8 GM, 4.0 Jeep

authors avatar