Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

DoctorEurocar
Mitchell Isidore
South Florida
(6 posts)

05/01/2013 06:47PM

Main British Car:
1973 Triumph Stag 1990 SBF & T5 in progress

1973 Triumph Stag Project V8 swap with AC Questions?
Posted by: DoctorEurocar
Date: May 07, 2013 10:39AM

Hello all My name is Mitchell and below is "Almost" a 1973 Triumph Stag i believe Mk II Born FEB 1973.
IMG_1538.JPG
IMG_1539.JPG
IMG_1540.JPG
IMG_1541.JPG
IMG_1542.JPG

After owning 20 plus classics over last 20 years not one had Air but if it did it was tossed aside..That was Southern Califoria and Seattle living in South Florida that most important aspect of this build is AC. that being said I bought "Almost" without drivetrain and have a budget of $5000.00 including price of car to get her on the road...Now Im a European Car technician by trade but started out in a Restoration shop in Santa Monica, CA over 2 decades ago..

with that budget I have to get a drivetrain/ Air conditioing, Paint , Convertible top and Seats restuffed....ok stop laughing my budget is reasonable, if not I have to sell one of my other cars and I dont much feel like doing this.

I am going with tried and true ford 5.0 and T5 out of an 1987-1993 Mustang. I plan to run carb as there is no way im screwing with what I think are perfect body lines of this car. I am not a purist but if I had the original engine I would rebuild it, update it and keep it but that in not an option.. I bought the car in Miami where is sat in a garage since 2001..

The body is straight and has two very minor rust spots nothing more, well at least until I tear it down..

Questions

Is the factory AC which this car has decent when it is working perfectly?.