Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

tr7v8mike
Michael Booth
Sydney, Australia
(18 posts)

02/22/2015 10:26PM

Main British Car:
1981 TR7 Rover 4.6

Best rear end for TR7 4.6 RV8
Posted by: tr7v8mike
Date: August 11, 2016 09:30PM

Hi,
I'm new to the site so I'll say hello and give a little description of the car. I have a 1981 TR7 which I've been working on for a couple of years and is my pride and joy. The car is my daily ride and great for club track days and touring with my wife (she doesn't know that yet). I'm a middle-aged bloke who wants a classic performance sports car, but not a dedicated race car. I hadn't worked on cars much prior to this one. Now I'm totally hooked.

So far I have done the following: roll bar, heat and sound insulation to the cabin, new AC, Bluetooth and hands-free phone, linear actuators for the head lights, electric mirrors, integrated electric water pump and fan. I'm almost finished with the new engine. Its a 4.6L RV8 out of a P38 Range Rover, rebuilt with fully ported heads, 206 Crane camshaft, 10:1 CR pistons, Magnecor leads, 2.5L swirl pot, high-volume sump and oil pump, oil cooler and new oil pressure gauge up on the dash. I've had a crack at restoring and installing a Lucas 14CUX EFI with a Tornado chip from Mark Adams (one of nature's gentlemen). All I have to do is work out why its idling at 3500 rpm. T5 transmission that's just been completely re-built.

What I'm really looking for help with is the rear end. The more I read, the more confused I get. I've done searches on the website but I'm not a lot clearer. Want I would like is a LSD that will tolerate the torque on hill climb days, be tractable and geared for city driving and still be good for touring. I need to set it up for rear disks and 5-stud wheels. Nothing too exotic or expensive. Am I asking for the bloody impossible?