Triumph Sports Cars

engine swaps and other performance upgrades, plus "factory" V8s (Stag and TR8)

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

arthart
Art Hart
Ottsville, PA
(10 posts)

11/24/2007 02:05PM

Main British Car:
'63 TR4 surrey Ford 302

authors avatar
Hi from a new member
Posted by: arthart
Date: November 24, 2007 04:48PM

My experience with British cars, and Triumphs in particular, dates back to May of 1962 when I took delivery of my new BRG TR4 as I graduated from college. I loved that car and put 53,000 miles on it the first 52 weeks I owned it. I sold it 2 years later with a family on the way and went back to really old cars (model T Fords, one cylinder Cadillacs - 1904, 1906, Stanley steamers etc) strickly as a hobby.

Fast forward to 1998 when I decided to get back into '60's sports cars again. I bought a '64 Morgan +4 which uses the Triumph engine. I still have that car and thoroughly enjoy it. However, I still wished I had my old TR4 back again, so I searched for the best car I could find. I ended up with '64 TR4 with only 17,569 miles on it which still sported the original tires, fan belt and radiator hoses. It looks and drives like a new car. A true survivor, it had spent most of its life in two large air conditioned collections in Ohio relatively undriven. I've now owned that car for 3 years and feel bad every time I drive it because I am putting additional miles on it and can't even put a spin on oil filter on it without hurting its originality.