Stone Mountain, Georgia USA
(5 posts)

08/28/2012 07:37AM

Main British Car:
1969 MGC Roadster Ford V8

Thoughts and Recommendations on Dry Sump Oil Pumps
Posted by: BuddyHammond
Date: November 01, 2012 09:54AM

I am progressing on my 1969 MGC V8 Project (reference EngineSwap Forum @ MGExperience). Progress is a bit slow due to changes in my construction plan. This brings me to my posting here. My engine, Ford V8 Crate Motor, was ordered with Ford rear sump pan. The pan depth in the rear is problem for ground clearance. I decided to go to Dry Sump Oiling. I now have a Kevko Dry Sump Pan as well as an old Moon Eyes Oil tank. The missing component is the Oil Pump. I have zero experience with Dry Sump and I am seeing a ton of different manufacturers as well as variety of pumps, multiple scavenge ports, etc.
Finally, To my point. I am interested in any recommendations or commentary Y'All might have regarding Pump Selection. I am interested in most 'Bang for the Buck'. While I don't want to skimp on 'the' critical part/heart of the engine I am choking a bit on the prices of the New Pumps. Many at $1,000 and Up. Has anyone used a Nutter Racing NRC Pump ? Can I avoid a separate vacuum pump ? Thank You.

roverman
Art Gertz
Winchester, CA.
(3188 posts)

04/24/2009 11:02AM

Main British Car:
74' Jensen Healy, 79 Huff. GT 1, 74 MGB Lotus 907,2L

Re: Thoughts and Recommendations on Dry Sump Oil Pumps
Posted by: roverman
Date: November 01, 2012 11:49AM