09/17/2017 09:22AM

Main British Car:
Buick and Olds 215s

authors avatar
Piston ID ?
Posted by: bugdewde
Date: September 17, 2017 09:54AM

Hello All,
First post..... I've gleaned information from this forum/website for a number of years but have never posted before. I'm not new to the 215 V8 but I'm not an expert, either. Let's just say I'm a HUGE fan!
I have previously ran a Buick 215 in a Vega for many years (still have drivetrain) and currently own a Vega with an Olds 215.
I know Buick varied pistons to achieve different compression ratios and Olds varied head volumes but kept pistons the same.

Now to my question. I've never been inside an Olds 215. So I opened up this engine and found these pistons (after I cleaned the carbon off them). Can anyone ID these pistons? low compression/mid/High ?????
Small valve relief, not dished/domed, alloy? (non ferrous) and pretty much flush with deck at TDC.

OLDSMOBILE 215 PISTON ID????

Cleaned pistons small.jpg

This engine began to smoke heavily once it warmed up. Cleared with revs but became a mosquito killer at idle. I assumed worn valve guides/seals.
I have an autocross race next weekend and I want to fix this issue....... so I have a set of Buick 215 heads that have low miles (2k) since their rebuild about 10 years ago. Buick engine has been sitting on engine stand ever since due to a low oil pressure at idle issue.

I am swapping the Buick heads onto this Olds block just to get me in the race next week.
I'm using the same lifters in the Olds block but using the Buick pushrods (as they are different lengths than the Olds) with the Buick heads/valvetrain.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 09/17/2017 11:14AM by bugdewde.

bugdewde
Dwight Williford
East Tennessee
(9 posts)

Main British Car:
Buick and Olds 215s

authors avatar
Re: Piston ID ?
Date: September 17, 2017 10:09AM

This engine was in the car when I purchased it a couple years ago.