Tegguy
Dustin Sondenaa

(25 posts)

01/27/2008 05:27PM

Main British Car:

motor build
Posted by: Tegguy
Date: May 19, 2008 02:24AM

Hey guys i'm new to the whole V8 thing and so I wanted some recommendations for parts and what all I would need for my motor. I would like to build a 302 stroked to 347. I have a good block from a 71 ford. I would like to put around 350-400hp down (call me crazy) I was curious if people could either recommend parts or put together what they would like for a build list and also estimate a price. I will be running a tremec TKO500 transmission. The block and rods are about the only thing salvagable although if I stroke it the rods probably won't be used. This will be going into a 1969 Triumph TR6. I have the headers already. Thank you

rficalora
Rob Ficalora
Willis, TX
(2764 posts)

10/24/2007 02:46PM

Main British Car:
'76 MGB w/CB front, Sebring rear, early metal dash Ford 302

authors avatar
Re: motor build
Posted by: rficalora
Date: May 19, 2008 05:32PM

Talk with Pete Mantell @ Mantell motor sports. [www.britishv8.org] He's a member & advertiser here & has plenty of 1st hand experience w/stroked 302's. If you're talking flywheel HP, 350-400 should be easily doable. A std bore 302 with aluminum GT40 heads & a B303 cam (aka the common Ford motorsports 302 crate motor) is a mild engine. Ford advertises it at 350hp & ~300ft/lbs but folks I've talked with that have had it dynoed see more like 370hp & 310ft/lbs...

Since you mentioned you're new to the V8 thing, you'll also want to consider how you're going to get that power to the pavement. You'll pobably want to look into changes to the rear end as well as wider & stickier tires. You may need to reinforce the frame some too.

Which reminds me... also check in with Ted Lathrop @ Fast Cars, Inc. [www.britishv8.org] Ted's car is a TR-6 with a Chevy 350 in it. He reinforced the frame on his & has a 9" ford rear end [although I'm pretty sure he told me he'd do an 8" if he did it again].