5579 Timber Ridge Dr, Mt Vernon, Skagit, Washingto
(118 posts)

05/06/2013 11:11PM

Main British Car:
MGB GT 1972 Buick 215

gaskets
Posted by: robert1839
Date: August 15, 2013 06:07PM

i have ordered the engine gasket set and i hear of people using gasket sealer or copper spray stuff. is that really necessary dose it make it worse or better, dose it matter? my dad was never really good with gaskets he always said just reuse them but i have learned the hard way because of that. so now i always buy new ones but i have never used the sealer before or the copper stuff is it good to use or not?

DiDueColpi
Fred Key
West coast - Canada
(1366 posts)

05/14/2010 03:06AM

Main British Car:
I really thought that I'd be an action figure by now!

authors avatar
Re: gaskets
Posted by: DiDueColpi
Date: August 15, 2013 06:24PM

Tristan,
Check with the gasket maker!
Most gaskets these days are pretty hi-tech and won't tolerate any additional sealers.
They generally go on dry to a clean dry surface.
Sealers and copper spray are old tech that has carried through from the days when gaskets were very crude.
Get yourself a good torque wrench and use it.
It will become your best friend.
Anyone who thinks that they can torque properly by hand is deluding themselves.
Incorrect fastener tension is the biggest cause of gasket failure.
Torque tables are available on line for any size fastener that you are going to run across.
Cheers
Fred

Curtis Jacobson
Portland Oregon
(4577 posts)

10/12/2007 02:16AM

Main British Car:
71 MGBGT, Buick 215

authors avatar
Posted by: Moderator
Date: August 15, 2013 07:23PM

Quote:
Get yourself a good torque wrench and use it.