(96 posts)

01/16/2011 05:17PM

Main British Car:
1963 MGB

authors avatar
T-5 NWC transmission Question
Posted by: 63BlueMGB
Date: September 01, 2013 05:11PM

I am painting my engine bay currently getting ready to install my engine and transmission, Engine has been rebuilt, but I am unsure of transmission. I am really short on money and can't afford to take it to a transmission shop, I have downloaded a manual for the transmission but it looks pretty involved to tear apart and to inspect. I was told that the transmission was fine when I bought it, but I dont ever take anybody word until I can see for myself when it come to car parts. I am a novice mechanic, but I can figure most things out. I know it is worth my time right now to pull the transmission apart and check it out before i install it. Is there anyway to check the transmission without tearing it apart and determine how it functions or if repairs are needed. I am sure I already know the answer but I am hoping I am missing something! Any thoughts or comments are appreciated! Thanks in advance

mgb260
Jim Nichols
Sequim,WA
(2465 posts)

02/29/2008 08:29PM

Main British Car:
1973 MGB roadster 260 Ford V8

Re: T-5 NWC transmission Question
Posted by: mgb260
Date: September 01, 2013 05:30PM

Nick, First of all, try shifting it through all gears. Wiggle the input shaft side to side and in and out. Shouldn't be much play. Pull off the top cover and look inside. NWC should have 70W oil(hard to find nowdays). I used to mix 1 qt ATF to 2 qt 90W. Now Synchromesh oil is recommended. If you do decide to rebuild , Hanlon has a DVD. Ebay has inexpensive rebuild kits and the internet has downloadable shop manuals. This site and MgExperience site has lots of info. H.A.M.B. also. Biggest issue is to make sure you have the right one. Ford went to a longer input shaft in 94. So you would need the 93 and older bellhousing with the older NWC tranny. Hope this helps.

63BlueMGB
Nick B
Kansas City, Mo.
(96 posts)