Houston
(43 posts)

01/10/2014 11:28AM

Main British Car:
1968 Spitfire GT6 BOP 215 / Rover of some lineage

Rover 4.6L EFI - to GEM or Thor
Posted by: GT8MX
Date: January 12, 2014 05:18PM

I am an old noob to this forum. I'm retired but this is my first post.

I have decided to install a Rover 4.6L rather than the BOP 215 I have. I want EFI, so I'm trying to decide between:

1- Rover "GEMS" system
2 - Rover Bosch Motronic "Thor" system

My concern is not power - either yields enough - but hood clearance. I am stuffing the engine into a Spitfire GT6. I was worried about clearing the intake+carb+air cleaner stack, but I can't find measurement specs on either GEMS or Thor systems to determine if EFI has better hood clearnace. I am staying away from the earlier hotwire sysytem in a blind attempt at staying with newer technology in spite of Glen Towery's excellent article "How Glen Towery Installs Rover EFI on MGB V8 Conversions", The British V8 Newsletter, Volume XV Issue 1.

Height being equal I would go with GEMS because it is newer and I like the look of the Motronic intake runners rather than the GEMS plenum. Under the GEMS plenum is a realy neat set of horns, ala Hilborn only shorter, but they get hidden!

I am intrigued by the EDIS + MegaSquirt (due to the discussions in thread "Which ECU's will run a 1998 4.6 Range Rover engine?" and talk while fielding a LeMons car brakingwindracing.com) but I think that is independent of the Induction decision.

I have been reseraching this within the BritishV8 Forum with no luck. Any info or pointers to info?

Thanks,
Bill
[spitfiremx8.com]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/12/2014 09:51PM by GT8MX.

mgb260
Jim Nichols
Sequim,WA
(2463 posts)

02/29/2008 08:29PM

Main British Car:
1973 MGB roadster 260 Ford V8

Re: Rover 4.6L EFI - to GEM or Thor
Posted by: mgb260
Date: January 12, 2014 05:43PM