Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In

Black P-38
Mike Caldwell
Kentucky
(51 posts)

09/18/2008 12:56AM

Main British Car:
None Squirrel Cage & 2 Squirrel

Which ECU's will run a 1998 4.6 Range Rover engine?
Posted by: Black P-38
Date: September 22, 2008 09:34AM

Hello all,

Well I have taken the leap from the 215, (for my V-8 swap project), to a '98 Range Rover 4.6.

Now I need to know which ECU's can be used to operate the EFI etc. Does this motor still use a distributor?
I just bought it and will be taking delivery in about a week, It's a recycler with 82,000 miles and still in the vehicle.

Any input will be greatly appreciated, THANK YOU!!!
Mike

4.6 MGB V8
Matt T
New York
(31 posts)

12/07/2007 04:13PM

Main British Car:

Re: Which ECU's will run a 1998 4.6 Range Rover engine?
Posted by: 4.6 MGB V8
Date: September 22, 2008 05:01PM

Mike I’m no expert when it comes to fuel injection or computer controlled anything so if I’m wrong someone please correct me. I think both the GEMS and Thor engine management systems for the 4.6 are pretty complex and there are a few areas that make them a bit tricky for conversions.
First off the factory 4.6 wasn’t set up to run a distributor. Instead the computer uses a crankshaft position sensor that is triggered off of the flywheel or flexplate to generate timing information. You can adapt the sensor to run on other types of transmissions but it requires finding the right crank trigger and machining the flywheel to accept it. If you want to run a distributor you can change the front cover to an earlier intermediate type that accepts any compatible distributor.