Victoria, B.C.
(8 posts)

10/07/2008 10:11PM

Main British Car:
1976 MGB (Or what is left of one) Buick 215

Engine Timing?
Posted by: Mimic
Date: October 07, 2008 10:45PM

So I picked up this little demon in the paper as a MGB V8, someone had died and it had been bought at an auction, then re-sold. Anyways, i'm trying to fix it up, I have no idea what KIND of engine it is, assumably a 3.5L Rover, but is there any way to tell? Also, I was wondering if anyone has any ideas on how I can set the timing correctly, all the degrees and markers are worn away on the engine and i'm no professional, all I can say is that it has the old distributor with new cap, coil, and wiring, and I dont know exactly how to face the distributor or where the plugs will go on the cap, all I know is the firing order. Any ideas? =\

t.lay
Tom Lay
Grayslake, IL
(93 posts)

05/13/2008 09:53PM

Main British Car:
72 mg b gt

Re: Engine Timing?
Posted by: t.lay
Date: October 08, 2008 12:10AM

Welcome!

Got photos/serial #s? That will help w/engine ID.
For timing - first find tdc (pull spark plug on #1 cyl - turn motor - with no spark - till your at the top of the compression stroke. If you put your finger over the plug hole as you turn the motor - it's the point your finger gets a puff of air that pushes off the hole). You're now within a couple of degrees of tdc). Once you have tdc - based on the engine you can set wires/dizzy/rotor position and get a startable setting. There's other ways to find tdc - this one has worked well for me with small block ford motors - you can also find tdc removing a valve cover and watching valves open and close - both valves closed on the compression stroke should be at tdc or very close.

Mimic
Landon Brown
Victoria, B.C.
(8 posts)

Main British Car:

Date: October 08, 2008 03:35PM