Neil Verity
Neil Verity

(17 posts)

07/30/2008 02:47PM

Main British Car:

Jag IRS or Ford 8" or 9" rearend set up
Posted by: Neil Verity
Date: November 04, 2008 04:05PM

I'm new to the British V8 forum but love the concept. I'm working on a MGB V8 (modified Rover 4.0 with Buick 300 crank and heads) that will be a dedicated Auto-X and track car. I have raced an MGB in GP and HP in SCCA for almost 8 years so I know the mgb part, but not the V8 part. Question:

I originally planed on using a Jag rear end with IRS for the V8 MGB project (sounded good at the time). Having now acquired one, I now realize that it weighs a ton. Thus, I'm thinking I need to substantially lighten it or change over to either a 8" or a 9" ford rear end (which I presume is lighter). FYI, In SCCA EM auto-X trim the minimal weight limit is 1700 lbs so that is my target weight. The Goal is to have > 250 hp to begin with but over time get it into the > 350 hp range once I/car progress from Auto-X to Track days. I would like to build the rear end/axle right the first time to handle the expected higher stress.

What is the weight difference between a Jag XJS IRS (all complete, DANA rear end....in its "cage" as it came off the car), 8" and 9" ford rear end with cut down axles/tubes? Are gear sets available (3:90. 4:10, 4:30 etc..) for the 8"? Is an 8" strong enough to withstand 350 hp and hopefully a robust torque curve?

Any thoughts on which set-up to use will be appreciated.

Thanks

Neil

BlownMGB-V8
Jim Blackwood
9406 Gunpowder Rd., Florence, KY 41042
(6470 posts)

10/23/2007 12:59PM

Main British Car:
1971 MGB Blown,Injected,Intercooled Buick 340/AA80E/JagIRS

authors avatar
Re: Jag IRS or Ford 8" or 9" rearend set up
Posted by: BlownMGB-V8
Date: November 06, 2008 08:15PM