(138 posts)

04/07/2016 08:29PM

Main British Car:
1979 MGB 4.6L Rover V8

Rover 4.6 V8 Triage
Posted by: RDMG
Date: May 18, 2016 12:15PM

Hi folks,

I have a 4.6L Rover THOR-intake V8 pulled from a 2004 Discovery sitting on an engine stand in my garage, and a burning desire to drop it into an MGB. It's a sick patient though, and I could really use some guidance and suggestions as to how to proceed.

I'm new to engine teardowns and rebuilds, but I've read Roger Williams' How to give your MGB V8 Power, I just started reading Tom Monroe's Engine Builder's Handbook, and I have a pdf of the Rover factory rebuild manual for the 4.0/4.6.

I bought the engine for a song (caveat emptor and all that), and I'm happy if this engine turns out to be a boat anchor. I needed something to get my hands on, and the $250 price tag was right. I can always sell the useful parts to recover my expenses if I have to.

I'd like to make a rational assessment of whether this engine is worth rebuilding to a mildly tuned state, or whether I should move on to another block. My preference is to keep costs low, to get my V8 MGB built, and to return to the engine for a major rebuild and upgrades down the road.

Here's what I know:

The engine has approx. 125,000 miles on it.

I bought it from a mechanic who parts out cars on the side. This particular Discovery came into his shop, and the owner didn't want to make further attempts to repair the engine after one failed attempt, and abandoned the entire truck. The water pump, alternator, AC compressor, crankshaft pulley/harmonic balancer, coil packs, and starter were removed and sold to other buyers before I showed up. I never saw the engine in the truck, and I never heard it run.