croatia
(16 posts)

09/13/2018 01:25AM

Main British Car:
1973 MGB GT ROVER 3.5 V8

KICK DOWN OPERATION
Posted by: murray.arnold
Date: September 16, 2018 02:29AM

Morning. I am here again with more questions as I have little to no experience with a V8 and automatic transmissions. I have had a v8 with 3 speed auto for 6 years. The kick down never worked. As I do so few miles this never concerned me. But I have just done a 4 barrel holley conversion and now want everything working. I think I have found the kick down cable. I have to assume this was attached to the SU carbs but maybe the carb linkage or gearbox never worked. photo attached.

Does the linkage from the carb pull on the cabe and do something in the gearbox or...………….. I would like to know how it all works.
I don't know what I need for the carb to attach the cable to. Photo of carb attached. (I know its on back to front. I will turn it)

IMG-20180915-WA0023.jpg
KICK DOWN CABLE.jpg

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/16/2018 07:56AM by murray.arnold.

BlownMGB-V8
Jim Blackwood
9406 Gunpowder Rd., Florence, KY 41042
(6468 posts)

10/23/2007 12:59PM

Main British Car:
1971 MGB Blown,Injected,Intercooled Buick 340/AA80E/JagIRS

authors avatar
Re: KICK DOWN OPERATION
Posted by: BlownMGB-V8
Date: September 16, 2018 11:16PM

Depends on the transmission.
Determine what it is and than do a search for "kickdown linkage" and the transmission model. Here is a thread on the BW35

//forum.sunbeamalpine.org/index.php?threads/bw35-kickdown-cable.18689/

Jim

murray.arnold
murray forbes-arnold
croatia
(16 posts)

Main British Car:
1973 MGB GT ROVER 3.5 V8

Date: September 17, 2018 05:03AM

thanks Jim. I can only assume that its a Borg box. I have no way right now of knowing.
Having just read the link it pulls the cable leading to the box and opens a valve. So I will now try and buy a new cable and new carb linkage parts, turn the carb and set it all up. Fingers crossed.