Canton, OH
(6 posts)

01/29/2018 01:21PM

Main British Car:
1972 MGB GT V8 currently 3.5 Rover

Info/help needed on LS engine swap
Posted by: Oddbrit
Date: September 25, 2018 05:43PM

Hi I'm in the process of reviewing a potential engine swap on a 1965 Jaguar Mark X saloon. The car I have is in decent shape but the XK 6 cylinder is tired and need rebuilt. Instead I'm looking at transplanting a 6.0 Vortec out of a 2005 Silverado 2500 pickup.

I'm trying to just do a basic swap without changing and parts unless necessary. My initial review of the powertrain and the engine bay review it should be possible with little modification except in the transmission tunnel area. After numerous car resotation/modification/build projects of 25+ years I'm not scared of this but it is my first time transplanting a computer control engine/transmission combo. Therefore I have a couple questions and requests for guidance if possible.

1) The pickup I've found has a 5 speed manual. If I transplant a 4L60E or 4L80E transmission will the existing harness and computer work?

2) It appears many of the components (like ECM) will mount in similar locations as in the truck. Will it be necessary to eliminate certain sensors, wiring, etc. from the stock engine harness or can I just plug & play and only hook up a few wires to the exisitng harness?

3) Is there a good source to help me understand what wires can be eliminated?

4) Am I biting off more than I chew with limited computer controlled engine knowledge?

5) Anything else that your experience shows will poisible bite me?

Thanks in advance for any comments - Jim Bolinger (Canton, OH)

mgb260
Jim Nichols
Sequim,WA
(2461 posts)

02/29/2008 08:29PM

Main British Car:
1973 MGB roadster 260 Ford V8

Re: Info/help needed on LS engine swap
Posted by: mgb260
Date: September 25, 2018 06:00PM

Just use a 700R4 or 2004R, no computer control necessary.

Scott68B
Scott Costanzo
Columbus, Ohio
(561 posts)

10/25/2007 11:30AM

Main British Car: