EastCoastRoadster
Dave Brisco

(4 posts)

03/05/2009 12:21AM

Main British Car:

Newbie, need some help
Posted by: EastCoastRoadster
Date: March 05, 2009 12:42AM

Hi, I'm new to rover engines, but not to cars. I'm in the process of building a RoverV8 to go into a 64 Datsun 310 Roadster. As far as I know, it hasn't been done yet. I got a 3.9 with a stripped and then badly repaired head bolt hole, so the block is likley trash, but it was cheap and is a good mockup. Rest of the motor is OK, complete from Edelbrock 4bbl and manifold to all accessories.

My big issue is that the oil pump and filter assembly hits my crossmember, and I don't want to get out the torch. I see that the later engines use a crank driven oil pump, so the preliminary plan was to mill off the oil filter casting and tap the cover for AN fittings and remote the filter. My question is how is the pump driven, from the crank, timing gear or the harmonic balancer, and am i going to need to go to a 4.0 or later crank to drive the pump, in which case I may as well get a whole engine, or can I use a 3.9 or a 215 Buick and fit the late cover. I would need a crank trigger ignition, as the cover I found has no provision for a distributor, but that's not too big a deal.

I thought I'd ask for suggestions here first, as someone may have already done something similar.

Thanks
Dave
East Coast Roadster

relative4
Billy Andrews
Denver, CO
(55 posts)

11/25/2008 02:28PM

Main British Car:
'80 MGB Rover 3.5

authors avatar
Re: Newbie, need some help
Posted by: relative4
Date: March 05, 2009 08:07AM

Hi Dave, welcome to the site! MGBs have the same problem with the oil filter hitting the steering rack and/or sway bar, and the way we solve it is by replacing the oil pump base with a low-profile one. This is available from Clive Wheatley in England.

[mgv8.homestead.com]