Healey Sports Cars

mods & upgrades for Healey (Nash, Austin, or Jensen) cars, including engine swaps

Go to Thread: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicLog In
Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2

getagripgreg
Greg Stasko

(33 posts)

10/23/2008 12:08AM

Main British Car:

Olds 215 Bugeye Progress
Posted by: getagripgreg
Date: October 26, 2008 05:21PM

Hi there,

A quick introduction... My name is Greg and I'm a vintage racing restoration mechanic in Marin, CA. Back in the early '90s I built a couple of vintage Bugeyes up in Seattle, but haven't had my hands on one for many years.

This week, I acquired a basket case that was last registered in '78, and the best part about it is the aluminum v8! :)

I've spent some time cleaning the tub and investigating the motor, and it appears that I have an Olds F-85 motor with an upgrade to a 4 barrel. The number on the head starts with "S", so it should be the 155 hp model. I was able to get 6 spark plugs out, two are stuck, but the good news is that the motor does turn. I poked my borescope in the cylinders and only one looks really rusted. One of the piston crowns was clean enough to read the number stamped on top, 040. So it looks as though it's already been taken out to the max. Hopefully it doesn't have a wrecked liner.

It is missing the gearbox, but there is an aluminum bellhousing and clutch in place, with a shortened driveshaft. There was an old iron bellhosing in the boot, which I suspect was from a Chevy, and right now I'm planning on finding a T-10.

It has an unusual rear axle that I do not recognize. It has a bolt-on rear cover, 4 lug axle flanges, with a castle nut at the axle center. The drum brakes are large enough that the Sprite wheels don't fit, it has 14" steels on the back.

You can check out lots of photos at my smugmug gallery:
[getagripgreg.smugmug.com]