Andrew McCord

(7 posts)

08/23/2010 02:45PM

Main British Car:

Fair price for rebuilt 215 with T5?
Posted by: akmccord
Date: January 05, 2012 07:21PM

Hello Everyone,
Newbie here...I've got a lead on a rebuilt Buick 215 with a T5 that doesn't have the
Bell housing...I would definitly appreciate some suggestions as to a reasonable price for this.
Price at the moment is 3500...I'm thinking more like half of that...
Also Since there isn't a Swedish V8 site like this maybe if any of you know of anyone
who has put one of these motors into a Volvo 1800 I'd love to hear about it.
Thank you,
Andrew

Curtis Jacobson
Portland Oregon
(4577 posts)

10/12/2007 02:16AM

Main British Car:
71 MGBGT, Buick 215

authors avatar
Re: Fair price for rebuilt 215 with T5?
Posted by: Moderator
Date: January 06, 2012 02:01AM

There are rebuilt engines and then there are rebuilt engines! Who built this one? To what specs? Where in the world? Has it run yet? When was it built-up and how has it been stored since? Does it come with any sort of guarantee or warranty?

$3500 could be an amazing bargain or it could be a complete rip-off. I have it on good authority that one of the 3.5L Rover engines featured on BritishRacecar.com cost over $20,000 to build, and it's only expected to last a season or so before being refreshed.

In the specific case of Buick 215s, you'll want to know exactly which pistons were used because that determines compression ratio. For any rebuilt engine, you'll probably want to know how much oversize they went on the pistons/bores and how much under-sized on the bearings (main and rod) - because those numbers reveal how close to worn-out the engine was when the machine shop got it.