Dukebloodhound
Jeffrey Landry

(18 posts)

04/24/2014 02:56PM

Main British Car:

High Oil Pressure
Posted by: Dukebloodhound
Date: April 25, 2014 04:30PM

Hi, my name is Jeff and I am writing in from Utah. I have never used a message board before, so forgive me if I do not know what I am doing! I have a 1978 MGB that I have been converting to a Rover V8 over the last couple of years. I have encountered an issue which I am looking for advice on. Here is what I have: 1997 Rover 4.0, Buick 215 front timing cover, D & D high volume oil pump, Buick Metric pump cover, remote oil filter on 1/2 inch ID lines. I broke the engine down and replaced the rings, main bearings, big end bearings, lifters and the cam. The engine started well and ran total for about an hour before the issues developed. Here is the problem, at idle, the oil pressure runs about 50 psi. As you increase the rpm's, the oil pressure rises also. I goes up to 100 psi at around 3200 rpm's. I have not taken the engine over this due total fear! After the engine has run for 5 minutes or so, I start to hear a lite clicking noise coming from the front timing cover. It is about 2 clicks per second. At this point the oil pressure starts to drop to less than 10 psi at all rpm range. I shut the engine down immediately at this time.

This winter I found a much better looking timing cover to replace my slightly battered one. I also replaced the oil pump, making sure I followed all directions to the letter. When I completed these alterations last week, the oil pressure issue had not changed at all. I am wondering if anyone has any ideas on this, or had the same problem. I would really like to get the car running this season.
Thanks for your help

BlownMGB-V8
Jim Blackwood
9406 Gunpowder Rd., Florence, KY 41042
(6470 posts)

10/23/2007 12:59PM

Main British Car:
1971 MGB Blown,Injected,Intercooled Buick 340/AA80E/JagIRS

authors avatar
Re: High Oil Pressure
Posted by: BlownMGB-V8
Date: April 26, 2014 09:11AM